Note from Satsvarupa dasa Goswami About His Art

I would like my paintings and sculpture to speak for themselves, but a few words of introduction may help. I am sixty-three years old and have been painting for over ten years. In contrast, I began writing journals and poems in my teenage years, although sometimes I would add little sketches along with my writing.

In 1966, at the age of twenty-six, I met A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami, who came from India, and I became his disciple in the practice of bhakti-yoga. The Swami began a movement that is now worldwide, popularly known as the Hare Krishna movement. I believe two points place my art within the definition of «outsider» art by persons of the «marginalized» society: first, it is self-taught art, and second, the Hare Krishna movement is seen as a cult by mainstream society.

 More on self-taught art->

Обсуждение закрыто.

